The best local dishes I made…

While, as I stated in a previous post, I ate a lot a lot of salad during the course of my strict totally local diet, I did also create a few excellent full Sunday dinner(and breakfast)-style meals.  

Here are couple things I came up with I feel are worthy sharing:

  • A goat’s yoghurt and dill topping for potatoes roasted with garlic, onions, butter, ground coriander seed, and salt.
  • Scrambled eggs with onions and fresh dill (I’m noticing a bit of a herb trend.) It was refreshing and eliminated any residual childhood-born urge to put ketchup on my eggs.
  • A mixed green salad with kale, mustard greens, roasted beets, goat’s cheese and a touch of garlic and dill dressing. Wow, I might actually have a serious dill addiction.

I have always liked food, but I haven’t always loved vegetables they way I do now, which is more than the average person. What I did notice about not having a variety of available spices, is I was forced to enjoy the natural flavours of the vegetables.

1 thought on “The best local dishes I made…

  1. Hi Kristen, I hope that all went well during your ‘quest for food.’ I’m just kidding; I actually find your idealism admirable and your self-discipline second to none. As life has its twists and turns, there seems to be enough challenges and struggles to turn even the most innocent and kind-minded of us into cynics.
    Congratulations, but I hope that you didn’t drink and drive after the ‘second line wine,’ kidding again. We used to call that a “Mountain Tour” back in the day. Good job, steadfastly holding firm in your beliefs, no matter how difficult. I have become more conscious, to a degree – 10, 20% perhaps – not good, but at least it’s a start. You subconsciously opened up some eyes without realizing it. Hudda thunk it?

Leave a comment